You may also like…

See what's on

Previous year  Previous month July Next month Next year 
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Buy Now
Set reminder

Request an email reminder about this concert

7:30 PM , Royal Festival Hall , London

2013: Rites of renewal


Schubert Symphony No. 1
Magnus Lindberg Cello Concerto No. 2 (UK premiere)
Stravinsky The Rite of Spring

Jukka-Pekka Saraste conductor
Anssi Karttunen cello
London Philharmonic Orchestra

In Beethoven’s footsteps, a new voice arose: a young genius who embodied the birth of Romanticism like no other. Franz Schubert takes up the thread of 2020 Vision with his irrepressible First Symphony of 1813. And a century later in 1913, Stravinsky blew Western music sky-high with his explosive Rite of Spring. There’s only one way to match that kind of radicalism; and any new piece by Magnus Lindberg is a headline event. He wrote his Second Cello Concerto in 2013, but this performance by Jukka-Pekka Saraste and Anssi Karttunen – the cellist who gave its premiere – is a UK first.

In collaboration with Scala Radio
scala logo web smaller 

Ticket prices

  • £14
  • £65

Listen First

Additional Information

We strive to make orchestral music open to the broadest audience and offer several ways to save including multi-buy series discounts

Find out more about how to book for LPO concerts at Southbank Centre.