You may also like…

See what's on

Previous year  Previous month January Next month Next year 
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

7:30 PM , Royal Festival Hall , London

2010: Crossing cultures


Sadly this event has now been cancelled

John Corigliano Stomp 
Philip Glass Double Concerto for violin and cello 
Shankar Symphony

Karen Kamensek conductor
Daniel Hope violin
Alban Gerhardt cello
Anoushka Shankar sitar
London Philharmonic Orchestra

The late Ravi Shankar was a musician who brought worlds together, and when the LPO premiered his Symphony in 2010, it attracted global attention. As part of 2020 Vision we look back at a year of genre-defying musical creativity, with Anoushka Shankar returning to reprise her solo part in the Symphony, and two of the most adventurous soloists in western classical music, Daniel Hope and Alban Gerhardt, playing the brilliant, balletic Double Concerto by Philip Glass, another composer who transcends – and transforms – musical conventions. John Corigliano’s uproarious Stomp, meanwhile, does exactly what it says on the tin.
Part of Southbank Centre’s Shankar 100 celebrations.

Generously supported by Cockayne and the London Community Foundation.

Cockayne Logo high res


LCF Logo Core CMYK


In collaboration with Scala Radio
scala logo web smaller 

Listen First

Programme notes

Additional Information

We strive to make orchestral music open to the broadest audience and offer several ways to save including multi-buy series discounts

Find out more about how to book for LPO concerts at Southbank Centre.