You may also like…

See what's on

Previous year  Previous month January Next month Next year 
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Buy Now
Set reminder

Request an email reminder about this concert

7:30 PM , Royal Festival Hall , London

2006: The new Bacchus


Beethoven Symphony No. 4
Kaija Saariaho Notes on Light
Scriabin Symphony No. 4 (The Poem of Ecstasy) 

Omer Meir Wellber conductor
Johannes Moser cello
London Philharmonic Orchestra

‘I am the new Bacchus, pressing out glorious wine for the human spirit’, proclaimed Ludwig van Beethoven, and although his Fourth Symphony is sometimes considered his most light-hearted, there’s no mistaking the ambition, the fantasy and the pure, electrifying inspiration that pulses through every note. Omer Meir Wellber knows just how to harness that energy, and when – as in Scriabin’s orgasmic Poem of Ecstasy – to set it free. And cellist Johannes Moser might be the finest current champion of Kaija Saariaho’s ravishing Notes on Light; a masterpiece from 2006 speaking across two centuries to its counterparts from 1806 and 1906. 


In partnership with Scala Radio
scala logo web

Ticket prices

  • £14
  • £65

Listen First

Additional Information

We strive to make orchestral music open to the broadest audience and offer several ways to save including multi-buy series discounts

Find out more about how to book for LPO concerts at Southbank Centre.