You may also like…

See what's on

Previous year  Previous month September Next month Next year 
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Buy Now
Set reminder

Request an email reminder about this concert

7:30 PM , Royal Festival Hall , London

2001: New century, new sounds


Beethoven Symphony No. 1
Péter Eötvös Snatches of a Conversation 
Scriabin Symphony No. 2 

Vladimir Jurowski conductor
Marco Blaauw trumpet
Omar Ebrahim narrator
London Philharmonic Orchestra

With the anarchic chords that open his First Symphony, Ludwig van Beethoven threw open the doors on a universe of new musical possibilities. A century later, in 1901, the young Alexander Scriabin wrote a Second Symphony whose surging melodies and ardent spirit stand on the brink of a new revelation: and in 2001, Péter Eötvös’s brilliantly quirky trumpet concerto revels in its imaginative freedom. In the first concert of our 2020 Vision project, Vladimir Jurowski celebrates Beethoven’s 250th birthday the way he would have wanted – a conversation between the past, the present and the future of music.

Ticket prices

  • £14
  • £65

Listen First

Join us for a free pre-concert event
6.15pm — 6.45pm | Royal Festival Hall
What is the relationship between the past, present and future? Through 2020 Vision we examine what works spanning centuries have to say about one another, and how they enhance our present understanding of them.

Find out more about how to book and ways to save.