Listen First

Watch Now

2017/18 Season Trailer

Welcome to the London Philharmonic Orchestra's 2017/18 season at Royal Festival Hall








Booking Info

Dvořák's Symphony No. 8

Plus Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 2

7:30 PM, ​ Royal Festival Hall, London

Debussy Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune
Prokofiev Piano Concerto No. 2
Dvořák Symphony No. 8

Thomas Søndergård conductor*
Luca Buratto piano
London Philharmonic Orchestra

*Please note a change of conductor from previously advertised

In fin-de-siècle Paris, Stravinsky's scores for Diaghilev's Ballets Russes caused a sensation. But there’s more than one way to change the world, and with his Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune, Claude Debussy created a realm of sensuous beauty that was decades ahead of its time. Thomas Søndergård reveals all that wonder tonight, and partners the young Italian pianist Luca Buratto in the concerto of silver and steel that Prokofiev wrote in a Russia on the brink of revolution. And then something completely different: the sunshine, birdsong and unbridled melody of what's surely Antonín Dvořák's happiest symphony.

Luca Buratto is the 2015 Prize Laureate of Calgary's Honens International Piano Competition. The Competition takes place every three years and is considered one of the world’s most prestigious events of its kind. Honens prepares its Laureates for the rigours and realities of professional careers in music and creates opportunities for growth and exposure.

See what's on

Previous year  Previous month December Next month Next year 
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun