See what's on

Previous year  Previous month October Next month Next year 
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
Set reminder

Request an email reminder about this concert

7:30 PM , Royal Festival Hall , London

Sponsor image

Brilliance and longing

Changing Faces: Stravinsky's Journey

Stravinsky Jeu de cartes
Bryce Dessner 
Concerto for Two Pianos (world premiere)
Symphony No. 3*

John Storgårds 
Katia Labèque 
Marielle Labèque 
London Philharmonic Orchestra

New worlds: exiled from Russia, Rachmaninoff and Stravinsky travelled Europe and America before ending up as unlikely neighbours in Hollywood. The chrome-plated dazzle of Rachmaninoff's gorgeous Third Symphony can’t hide its deep, songful sense of loss; and Stravinsky's Jeu de cartes is playing for higher (and scarier) stakes than you might at first realise from this brilliant, razor-sharp music. In between, guest conductor John Storgårds teams up with the world-famous Labèque sisters in something wholly new and surprising: a double piano concerto, written specially for the Labèques by Bryce Dessner, Golden Globe-nominated composer of the score for The Revenant.

* In co-operation with the Serge Rachmaninoff Foundation.

† Commissioned by the London Philharmonic Orchestra, Borusan Culture Arts Centre, Dresden Philharmonie, Orchestre de Paris & Orquestra Nacionales de España.

Concert generously supported by Dior

logo dior2


Are you a student or aged between 18 and 26?

If you are a full-time student in higher education you can benefit from £5 tickets and if you are aged between 18 and 26 you can benefit from £10 tickets to selected London Philharmonic Orchestra concerts throughout the year (ID required).

Call the box office on 0207 840 4242 for details and to book tickets (Mon-Fri 10am-5pm).

Find out more about the scheme and sign up.

Listen First

Watch Now









Booking Info