Introducing Bruckner's Symphony No. 8

Watch our short introduction to Bruckner's Symphony No. 8

Share this video

Listen First



Booking Info

Royal Festival Hall 2013/14

  • Please note that a transaction fee of £1.75 will be added to each order made online.
  • Tickets booked fewer than five working days before the date of the concert will be available for collection at the ticket office from 6.30pm on the day of the performance.
  • Concessions: 50% off all ticket prices for full-time students, benefit recipients (Jobseeker's Allowance, Income Support or Pension Credit) and under-16s (maximum 4 per transaction. Not applicable to Family Concerts) only. Limited availability; appropriate cards will be checked on admission.

Premium seats £65
The very best seats in the stalls, ensuring you the finest acoustic and view, are available as Premium seats.

Book more, pay less

Book 3-4 concerts and receive a 10% discount
Book 5-7 concerts and receive a 15% discount
Book 8-10 concerts and receive a 20% discount
Book 11-14 concerts and receive a 25% discount
Book 15 or more concerts and receive a 30% discount

Only nine tickets per concert can be bought online. Bookings of ten or more seats for the same concert are eligible for the group booking discount of 20%. Please call the London Philharmonic Orchestra Group Booking Line on 020 7840 4205 for further details.

Offline booking

London Philharmonic Orchestra ticket office: 020 7840 4242
Mon-Fri 10am-5pm. £2.75 transaction fee

Southbank Centre ticket office: 0844 847 9920
Daily 9.30am-8pm. £2.75 transaction fee. All ticketing staff at Southbank Centre can take typetalk calls.
In person at Southbank Centre: no transaction fee.

Minimum age

7.30pm concerts are not recommended for children of five years and under, and Southbank Centre staff reserve the right to refuse entry to young children for these events. We recommend our FUNharmonics concerts for children.

Triumph and Majesty

Victory of light over darkness

7:30 PM, ​ Royal Festival Hall, London

Schumann Violin Concerto
Bruckner Symphony No. 8 (Haas edition)

Jukka-Pekka Saraste conductor
Renaud Capuçon violin
London Philharmonic Orchestra

In December 1892, Anton Bruckner was in Vienna for the premiere of his Eighth Symphony. After numerous problems with the piece, Bruckner was nervous. But he needn’t have been. ‘When the last sounds had died out, a storm of enthusiasm burst forth with elementary force’, wrote the composer Hugo Wolf who was in the audience. For Wolf, Bruckner’s colossal display of orchestral strength represented the total victory of light over darkness. Robert Schumann expressed no such doubts about his majestic Violin Concerto, whose back-story of criticism and suppression is at last fading in the face of genuine fascination. Renaud Capuçon makes the case for one of Schumann’s most rich and unusual works.

Please note latecomers will not be admitted until the interval.

Are you a student or under 26?

You can benefit from discounted tickets to this concert through our NOISE scheme. Students are eligible for £4 tickets and under 26 year olds are eligible for £8 tickets (ID required). Plus, join us after the concert for a free beer, courtesy of the Orchestra’s Principal Beer Sponsor, Heineken.

Call the box office on 0207 840 4242 for details and to book tickets (Mon-Fri 10am-5pm).

Find out more about the scheme and sign up.

See what's on

Previous year  Previous month October Next month Next year 
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun