Concert reviews: Wednesday 19 November 2014

On Wednesday 19 November 2014 at Southbank Centre's Royal Festival Hall, Yannick Nézet-Séguin conducted the London Philharmonic Orchestra in a concert of Brahms, Schubert and Strauss, with pianist Lars Vogt.

Here are the press reviews ...

‘This was a dashing and rapturous if primary-colour account [of Don Juan] … Seduction a-plenty, too, with Sergey Ostrovsky’s come-hither violin solos and Ian Hardwick once again displaying his poetic prowess.’
Colin Anderson, Classical Source, 20 November 2014

‘It was Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony after the interval that truly allowed the orchestra to shine. Again adopting a leaner, cleaner approach than usual, Nézet-Séguin skillfully navigated the orchestra through the treacherous symphony with finesse. Particularly outstanding were the violins, who sounded positively luminous in the second movement.’ (4 stars)
Kevin W Ng, Bachtrack, 20 November 2014

‘It was the way in which this conductor gave full value to the length of phrases that gave [Don Juan] its expansive and expensive quality. The exquisite oboe theme at its heart nestled in luxuriant accompanying strings and when the Don’s egocentric horn theme returned in one last bid for true love the effect was pretty overwhelming.’
Edward Seckerson, 20 November 2014

‘Both conductor and soloist unfolded phrase after phrase of captivating freshness and originality.’ (4 stars)
Barry Millington, Evening Standard, 20 November 2014

The concert will be made available to Listen Again free via the LPO website during the week commencing 24 November. Check back here, or sign up here for an email alert when it goes live. (Tick option 3: 'Online concerts - Listen Again!')

Read the concert programme online here

Were you at the concert? Let us know what you thought – join the conversation on Facebook or Twitter, or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..