Concert Reviews: 9 November 2016

On Wednesday 9 November 2016, Robin Ticciati led the London Philharmonic Orchestra in a performance of Dvořák's Symphony No. 9 and Beethoven's Violin Concerto with soloist Anne-Sophie Mutter. 

Read the reviews here:

‘Dvořák’s most famous Symphony was given a vibrant outing ... The celebrated Largo included a spellbinding cor anglais contribution from Sue Böhling, coming after the perfectly-weighted brass chords of the opening, and the music flowed beautifully ... This was a wonderful performance of a much-loved masterwork.’
Colin Clarke,, 10 November 2016

‘Sweet, fresh and supple, powered by muscular brass and cooled by scissoring strings, the London Philharmonic Orchestra's performance of Dvorak's Ninth Symphony under Robin Ticciati was revelatory in its beauty and seriousness.’
Anna Picard, The Times, 11 November 2016 [paywall]


Read the concert programme online here.

Were you at the concert? Let us know what you thought – join the conversation on Facebook or Twitter, or email us.