Concert Reviews: 8 October 2016

On Saturday 8 October, Thomas Søndergård led the London Philharmonic Orchestra in a performance of Sibelius's King Kristian II Suite, Panufnik's Violin Concerto with soloist Sergej Krylov, and Shostakovich's Symphony No. 5.

Read the reviews here:

‘Sibelius's King Christian II Suite, with violas to the right, glowed in little delights of sustained phrasing, togetherness, articulation and rhythmic attack.’
‘The first and third movements, especially the slow third, were outstanding.’
Ateş Orga,, 9 October 2016

‘After the interval, they came into their own with Shostakovich's Symphony no. 5 in D minor... The dynamic control was impeccable, imparting force to the harmonic shifts in the first movement, and the individual harp chords which announce tension-filled key changes rang through with clarity.’
‘The LPO octet of trumpet/trombone/tuba players knocked it out the park, and – setting aside the sarcasm, for a moment – it made for a superbly exciting end to an excellent concert.’
David Karlin,, 9 October 2016

‘With Søndergård holding the pulse on a tight rein but not throttling it to death, the final blaze was dispatched with grim defiance.’
Peter Quantrill,, 10 October 2016


Read the concert programme online here.

Were you at the concert? Let us know what you thought – join the conversation on Facebook or Twitter, or email us.