Concert Reviews: 31 October 2015

On Saturday 31 October, the London Philharmonic Orchestra were joined by Bruckner legend Stanisław Skrowaczewski in a performance of Bruckner’s colossal Symphony No. 5.

Read the reviews here:

 ‘Throughout this impressive account there was a strong and palpable connection between maestro and musicians’.

‘On this occasion the Bruckner stood alone, a welcome opportunity for orchestra and audience to focus on one mighty work, here distinguished by Skrowaczewski’s authority and humility, his lust for life and music, and the London Philharmonic’s dedicated response: a humbling yet inspiring experience was fashioned’.

Colin Anderson, Classical Source, 1 November 2015

‘The interpretation was vibrant and intuitive, with tempo and dynamic decisions seemingly coming from inside the music itself’.

‘The LPO strings made the climaxes of the movement particularly stirring, Skrowaczewski’s broad phrasing combining with the players’ rich, silken tone and impeccable ensemble to captivating effect’.

‘At 92, Skrowaczewski is still the master of this music; most other performances seem trivial by comparison’.

Gavin Dixon, The Arts Desk, 1 November 2015

‘There are few works that can fill an entire concert programme and leave the listener at its culmination with a sense of having undergone a spiritual experience. Bruckner’s Fifth Symphony is one such work.'

Alexander Hall, Bachtrack, 1 November 2015 (4 stars)

‘All perfectly delineated and audible (especially the flutes) sounding as noble and powerful as the composer intended, but never merely loud or strident’.

'A great Bruckner 5!'

Geoff Diggines, Seen and Heard International, 4 November 2015


Read the concert programme online here.

Were you at the concert? Let us know what you thought – join the conversation on Facebook or Twitter, or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Don't miss our next concert on Wednesday 4 November when Jukka-Pekka Saraste will conduct Mahler’s Symphony No. 5, following Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 3, performed by pianist par excellence Paul Lewis.