Concert Reviews: 27 November 2015

Friday 27 November marked Susanna Mälkki’s debut conducting appearance with the London Philharmonic Orchestra, leading the Orchestra in a performance of Liadov’s From the Apocalypse and Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 2, as well as Sibelius’s First Symphony.

Read the reviews here:

‘Richly orchestrated, From the Apocalypse was accorded a sumptuously played and hefty reading under Susanna Mälkki’s loving direction. Shimmering violins, weighty lower strings, sonorous brass, and Rachel Masters on harp, commanded the attention’.

‘That refreshing slant was initially on display in the wistfulness and playfulness of the first movement, adjacent to its sardonic tones. Rana was then formidable in the huge over-the-top cadenza, as she also was in the dazzling second-movement, in which Mälkki and the LPO were her equals’.

Richard Landau, Classical Source, 28 November 2015

‘Rana brought a wistful, luminous quality to the opening octaves while Mälkki and the LPO’s strings brought out the lush sweeping Romanticism of the music’.

’Robert Hill gave an assured performance of the opening Clarinet solo capturing the soulful quality of the music and creating a sense of stillness and reflection around the hall. Mälkki was in her element in this work creating a cogent musical narrative in the powerful first movement while coaxing the LPO to searing climaxes’.

‘The LPO’s sighing strings captured the Tchaikovskian flavour of the second movement to perfection and once again Mälkki allowed the storm clouds to build in a powerful elemental way’.

‘Overall, superb playing by all the performers and Mälkki and Rana are clearly both names to watch out for’.

Robert Beattie, Seen and Heard International, 30 November 2015


Read the concert programme online here.

Were you at the concert? Let us know what you thought – join the conversation on Facebook or Twitter, or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

You can listen again to this performance on BBC Radio 3.

Don’t miss our next concert on Friday 4 December when Enrique Mazzola will conduct a programme of romantic Italian works, including Nino Rota’s score for La Strada, as well as excerpts from Puccini’s operatic tragedy, Tosca.