Concert Reviews: 25 November 2015

On Wednesday 25 November, the London Philharmonic Orchestra’s newly-appointed Principal Guest Conductor, Andrés Orozco-Estrada, led the Orchestra in a performance of Dvořák’s bewitching Cello Concerto, and Mahler’s Symphony No. 1.

Read the reviews here:


‘Without compromising the music’s majestic moments, Orozco-Estrada drew particularly mellow and flexible playing from the LPO’.

‘Even better was to come with the Mahler. This was the LPO at its best’.

‘In appointing Andrés Orozco-Estrada, the LPO has made an excellent choice’.

Douglas Cooksey, Classical Source, 26 November 2015

‘Orozco-Estrada drew every ounce of limpid lyricism from the textures, revealing details of instrumentation all too rarely heard, and conjured up deep, trombone-crowned sonority for the climaxes’.

‘Motivic connections between themes were highlighted with subtle inflections of articulation, colour and texture, and the structure – particularly the ebb and flow of the finale’s darkness-to-light journey – was shaped with real mastery’.

‘The LPO played its collective socks off, too, in a performance as impressive at the localised level of solo roles as in the sheer power of the tuttis’.

Matthew Rye, Bachtrack, 26 November 2015 (4 stars)

‘Orozco-Estrada took it quickly but also kept the dynamics right down to a hush that conjured exactly the right sense of nature about to burst into life’.

‘The orchestra responded hungrily to Orozco-Estrada’s furious tempos with tremendously exciting energy’.

‘Johannes Moser showed sensitivity in an affecting and intelligently phrased middle movement’.

Neil Fisher, The Times, 26 November 2015 (4 stars; subscription only)


Read the concert programme online here.

Were you at the concert? Let us know what you thought – join the conversation on Facebook or Twitter, or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Don’t miss Susanna Mälkki’s debut performance with the London Philharmonic Orchestra, 27 November 2015, as she conducts a programme of works by Liadov and Prokofiev, as well as Sibelius’s First Symphony.