Concert Reviews: 19 October 2016

On Wednesday 19 October 2016, Osmo Vänskä led the London Philharmonic Orchestra in a performance of Sibelius's Symphony No. 1 and Karelia Suite, alongside Britten's Violin Concerto with soloist Simone Lamsma.

Read the reviews here:

‘Vänskä sculpted one of the sharpest, most belligerent readings that these ears have heard. In the first movement the LPO’s brass were almost frightening, spitting blood, biting into each note... A brilliant if extreme performance, magnificently played.’
Geoff Brown, The Times [paywall], 21 October 2016

‘Vänskä, with his taut rhythms and furious tempi, made it a thrilling helter-skelter ride... The LPO rose to the challenge splendidly, but also produced the sonorous tonal quality required for the sumptuous Tchaikovsky-influenced finale. ‘
Barry Millington, Evening Standard, 20 October 2016

‘The orchestra was superbly supportive and keenly responsive to Vänskä’s energising gestures... With performances like this, Vänskä should visit London more often.’
David Truslove,, 21 October 2016

‘With the LPO strings ranged across the front of the platform, this was Sibelius in widescreen sound, but at the same time lithe and clear, brilliant as the northern sun. Gale-force winds blew through the third movement (how could the LPO play it so fast?) The outer movements were a wild ride. Everything was gripping, from the big picture to the smallest detail.’
Richard Fairman, Financial Times, 21 October 2016

‘The London Philharmonic was in full cry with an utterly inspired conductor who seems more devoted to Sibelius than ever.’
Edward Clark,, 20 October 2016


Read the concert programme online here.

Were you at the concert? Let us know what you thought – join the conversation on Facebook or Twitter, or email us.