Concert Reviews: 14 October 2015

On 14 October, the London Philharmonic Orchestra was joined by Polish conductor, Krzysztof Penderecki in a world premiere performance of his Adagio for Strings and Horn Concerto, as well as his profound Threnody to the Victims of Hiroshima. The conductor also broke away from his own works to conduct Shostakovich’s Sixth Symphony.

Read the reviews here:

 ‘The LPO string-players vividly felt the music’s pain. They don’t write music like that anymore’.

‘The two fast closing movements had a fine Soviet brutalism that got closest to the music’s brilliant conceived and conflicted spirit’.

Peter Reed, Classical Source, 14 October 2015

‘[Penderecki’s Horn Concerto] has a disquieting, at times savage beauty, and was beautifully done’.

Tim Ashley, The Guardian, 15 October 2015 (4 stars)

‘It was fantastically fluent, very cunningly orchestrated’.

‘Occasionally a dense mass of sound narrowed to a single note, like a picture coming into focus’.

‘The beginning was rapturous, with three off-stage horns echoing the amazingly expressive and agile soloist Radovan Vlatković.’

Ivan Hewett, The Telegraph, 15 October 2015

‘it was brutal, uncomfortable and exciting in equal measure’.

Nick Kimberley, The Evening Standard, 15 October 2015

‘The two jarringly perky short movements that follow were convincingly brought off by Penderecki and the LPO, with the conductor seeming to emphasise the darker central sections in both movements to positive effect. Particular praise must go to the hard working principal flute player here, Kate Bedford’.

Chris Garlick, Bachtrack, 15 October 2015 (4 stars)

'With the LPO now sounding fully confident, the performance of [Shostakovich's] Symphony No. 6 was spacious and full-blooded'.

Richard Fairman, Financial Times, 15 October 2015 (Subscription only)


Read the concert programme online here.

Were you at the concert? Let us know what you thought – join the conversation on Facebook or Twitter, or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..