Concert Reviews: 12 February 2016

On Friday 12 February, Osmo Vänskä joined the London Philharmonic Orchestra once again to conduct a performance of Korngold’s Violin Concerto and Elgar’s Symphony No. 1, following Nicolai’s comedic overture to The Merry Wives of Windsor, played as part of our Shakespeare400 festival.

Read the reviews here:


‘Osmo Vänskä and the London Philharmonic did [Nicolai’s overture] proud in this perfectly paced, expressive and bouncy outing’.

‘This sublime slow movement was unfolded with largesse and much sensitivity, deeply affecting, and as the conclusion was reached some very refined and hushed playing proved spellbinding’.

‘Robert Hill’s clarinet arabesques in the slow movement were beguiling and, throughout, Simon Carrington’s timpani-playing was a model of producing sound from within the instrument’.

Colin Anderson, Classical Source, 13 February 2016

‘Vänskä persuaded playing of great energy from the orchestra throughout the work’.

‘The slow introduction was carefully paced, looking forward to a most expressive, very emotional account of the movement as a whole, which was both moving and exciting in turn’.

Alan Sanders, Seen and Heard International, 14 February 2016

‘By the sheer joie de vivre of this performance Osmo Vänskä made clear that this colourful and melody-infused score should be given more frequent outings’.

‘More Elgar please from Vänskä if this performance is anything to go by’.

David Truslove, Bachtrack, 15 February 2016 (4 stars)


Read the concert programme online here.

Were you at the concert? Let us know what you thought – join the conversation on Facebook or Twitter, or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

If you enjoyed this concert, don’t miss our next performance on Wednesday 24 February, as Vasily Petrenko conducts the Orchestra in a performance of Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto, and his Byron-inspired Manfred Symphony.