Reviews

The latest reviews of our concerts and recordings

Concert reviews: 3 March 2018

On Saturday 3 March 2018 Sir Antonio Pappano led a performance of Elgar's In The South, Brahms's Symphony No. 2, and Strauss's Four Last Songs with soprano Diana Damrau. Read the reviews below:

Read more ...

Concert reviews: 21 February 2018

On Wednesday 21 February 2018 we performed Stravinsky's The Rite of Spring alongside works by Debussy and Delius, and Ravel's Piano Concerto for the Left Hand with soloist Benedetto Lupo, conducted by Juanjo Mena. Read the reviews below:

Read more ...

Concert reviews: 7 February 2018

On Wednesday 7 February 2018 we performed Stravinsky's The Firebird alongside Scherzo fantastiqueFuneral Song, and Rimsky-Korsakov's Piano Concerto with soloist Alexander Ghindin, conducted by Vladimir Jurowski. Read the reviews below:

Read more ...

Concert reviews: 3 February 2018

On Saturday 3 February 2018 we launched Changing Faces: Stravinsky's Journey, our festival exploring Stravinsky's music in chronological order throughout 2018, with a programme of Stravinsky's earliest published works alongside music by Tchaikovsky, Glazunov and Rimsky-Korsakov. The concert was conducted by LPO Principal Conductor and Artistic Advisor Vladimir Jurowski and featured soloists Kristóf Baráti (violin) and Angharad Lyddon (mezzo-soprano). Read the reviews below:

Read more ...

Concert reviews: 27 January 2018

On Saturday 27 January 2018 we celebrated 10 years of our partnership with LPO Principal Conductor and Artistic Advisor Vladimir Jurowski with a gala concert performance of Wagner's Das Rheingold, launching a new semi-staged Ring Cycle to take place over the next four years. Read the full cast list here, and reviews below: 

Read more ...

Concert reviews: 29 November 2017

On Wednesday 29 November 2017 we were joined by Julia Fischer for a performance of Respighi's Autumn Poem, Chausson's Poème, and the UK premiere of Joseph Marx's An Autumn Symphony, led by LPO Principal Conductor Vladimir Jurowski. Read the reviews here:

Read more ...

Concert reviews: 22 November 2017

On Wednesday 22 November 2017 we were joined by Beatrice Rana for a performance of Prokofiev's Piano Concerto No. 3, as well as Bridge's Summer and Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 1, led by Michail Jurowski (father of LPO Principal Conductor Vladimir Jurowski). Read the reviews here:

Read more ...