Reviews

The latest reviews of our concerts and recordings

explore-premieres

Concert reviews: Vladimir Jurowski conducts John Adams's 'El Niño', 14 December 2013

John  Adams

On Saturday 14 December 2013 at Southbank Centre's Royal Festival Hall, Vladimir Jurowski conducted the London Philharmonic Orchestra and Choir in John Adams's 'Nativity Oratorio' El Niño. The soloists were Rosemary Joshua, Kelley O'Connor, Matthew Rose, Daniel Bubeck, Brian Cummings and Steven Rickards.

Here are the press reviews ...

Read more ...

Concert reviews: Vladimir Jurowski conducts MacMillan, Anderson, Turnage and Adès, 7 December 2013

Vladimir Jurowski photo

On Saturday 7 December, Vladimir Jurowski conducted the London Philharmonic Orchestra in a concert at Royal Festival Hall comprising music by living British composers James MacMillan, Julian Anderson, Mark-Anthony Turnage and Thomas Adès, and featuring percussion soloist Evelyn Glennie.

Here are the press reviews ...

Read more ...

Concert reviews: Dirk Brossé conducts 'The Genius of Film Music 1980–2000'

'An achievement of Hollywood proportions.'
Edward Lewis, Classical Source, 2 December 2013

On Friday 29 November at Southbank Centre's Royal Festival Hall, Dirk Brossé conducted the London Philharmonic Orchestra in 'The Genius of Film Music 1980–2000', a concert of popular film scores. Here are the reviews ...

Read more ...

Concert reviews: Michał Dworzynski conducts Penderecki & Górecki, 27 November 2013

Michał Dworzynski

On Wednesday 27 November at Southbank Centre's Royal Festival Hall, Michał Dworzynski conducted the London Philharmonic Orchestra in a concert featuring Penderecki's Violin Concerto with soloist Barnabás Kelemen and Górecki's Symphony No. 3 (Symphony of Sorrowful Songs) with soprano Allison Bell. Here are the reviews ...

Read more ...

The Rest Is Noise: Audience Reviews

The Rest Is Noise

We’ve been asking our audience members to send us their reviews of our performances as part of Southbank Centre’s The Rest Is Noise festival. We’ve had a great response and some brilliantly imaginative reviews which we’ve put together for you to read here. 

Read more ...

Audience concert review: 6 November 2013 (Gubaidulina & Pärt)

Sergej Krylov

The Rest Is Noise: A Timeless Beauty
Richard Lane, 6 November 2013

It must be 20 years ago since I bought Arvo Pärt’s album Tabula Rasa and it remains a favourite disc in my collection. But last Wednesday’s concert was the first time I had heard his music performed live, and fabulous it was too.

Read more ...

Audience concert review: 8 November 2013 (The Genius of Film Music 1960-1980)

John Mauceri

The Rest Is Noise: The Genius of Film Music 1960-1980
Richard Lane, 8 November 2013

Friday night at the movies

I love film, am fascinated by the early Hollywood era, and enjoy some of the scores that film has inspired, notably Korngold's operatic treatment of the 1938 film The Adventures of Robin Hood … but that is another era, the late 1930s. Truth was I was not sure what to expect from a whole evening of film music from the 1960s-1980s.

Read more ...