Board and Advisory Council

Board of Directors

Victoria Robey OBE  Chairman

A graduate of Phillips Academy Andover, Wesleyan University and the Courtauld Institute, Victoria has held positions at Goldman Sachs, Russell Reynolds Associates and the Paul Mellon Centre for Studies in British Art. Previously a Trustee of the Foundling Museum and member of the Mayor's Music Education Steering Committee, she is currently a Founder Director of London Music Masters and serves on the Council of the Royal College of Music. Victoria Robey was awarded an OBE for services to music in June 2014. Victoria supports the chair of LPO flautist Sue Thomas.

Martin Höhmann* President

Martin plays First Violin in the LPO, which he joined in 2000. In 2003 he joined the Orchestra's Board of Directors, of which he was Chairman from 2005–12 and became President in 2019. Read Martin's biography here.

Gareth Newman*  Vice-President

Gareth is Sub-Principal Bassoon of the LPO. Read Gareth's biography here.

Dr Catherine C. Høgel  Vice-Chairman

Catherine is a doctor who is currently taking time out of medicine to raise a growing family. Prior to this she studied at both Durham and Harvard Universities to achieve a Masters in Psychology, before commencing medical school in London, graduating in 2006. Catherine regularly participates in the ‘Quorum’ choir, and is a trustee of the Dunard Fund, the Colburn School of Performing Arts and member of the Honorary Board at the Royal Opera House.

Henry Baldwin*

Henry is Co-Principal Percussion of the LPO. Read Henry's biography here.

Roger Barron

Roger is a partner of Paul Hastings LLP, the international law firm, where he specialises in mergers and acquisitions. He is based in London, having previously been a partner with Linklaters LLP in London, Hong Kong, Singapore and Moscow. Roger was a choral scholar at New College, Oxford, where he also read Jurisprudence. He is a member of the Development Committee of the Royal Opera House (previously a member of the Royal Opera House Foundation Advisory Committee) and is a former Director and Trustee of the London Music Fund.

David Buckley

David holds a number of non-executive board positions and is currently Chairman of Royal Bank of Canada (Europe) Ltd., Chairman of Redwood Bank, Chairman of Archax Ltd., and Chair of the Board of Governors for the Yehudi Menuhin School. David was previously a non-executive Director and Chair of the Audit Committee for CIBC World Markets plc, and the lead Independent Non-executive Director for Fullerton Health pte in Singapore. He was a member of the Manchester University Global Leadership Board and Deputy Chairman, Hon. Treasurer and Chairman of the Finance and Investment Committees for the River and Rowing Museum in Henley. Prior to that David was European CFO for Morgan Stanley, Chief Executive of Morgan Stanley Bank International and a member of the Firm’s European Management Committee. Before joining Morgan Stanley, David was International Treasurer and European head of the Global Banking Group for Goldman Sachs. David has also worked for Coopers & Lybrand and the Plessey Company plc.

Tanya Joseph

Tanya is an experienced communications professional who has worked at the highest levels of government, private and not-for-profit sector providing advice and support across communications disciplines including consumer pr, corporate affairs, reputation management and behaviour change campaigning. A South African by birth and a Londoner in her soul, she has also lived and worked in Paris, Pakistan and Hong Kong. Among her many extra-curricular activities, Tanya sits on the board of the Thomson Foundation which works to raise standards of journalism across the world and London Sport, a public body which iw raking to make London the most active city in the world.

Bruno De Kegel

Bruno is founder & COO of Arvella Investments, a sustainable wealth management firm with a dual ambition to excel at investing and to make our world a better place by promoting better environmental, social and governance outcomes. From 19942017 he was Managing Director at Goldman Sachs, advising charitable foundations, wealthy families and entrepreneurs on their financial investments. He was a member of the Investment Strategy Group and head of the Portfolio Management Group for EMEA and Asia. Bruno earned an MBA from The University of Chicago Booth School of Business and holds a degree in Applied Economics from the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven in Belgium.

Al MacCuish

Al MacCuish is Chief Creative Officer and co-founder of Sunshine. A veteran of the marketing and communications industry, he has created award-winning global campaigns for brands including BMW, Land Rover, Orange, Skype, Penguin, Nike, Roald Dahl and Gucci. Al is also the author of the children's books Operation Alphabet and The Bee who Spoke, both published by Thames & Hudson.

Stewart McIlwham*

Stewart McIlwham is the Principal Piccolo, as well as a Professor of Piccolo at the Royal College of Music. Read Stewart's biography here.

Pei-Jee Ng*

Pei-Jee is Co-Principal Cello of the LPO. Read Pei-Jee's biography here.

Andrew Tusa

Andrew Tusa has had a 20-year career in financial services, starting in asset management and currently being pursued in UK investment banking. Andrew followed a career as a professional singer for eight years after taking a degree in Music and is a keen violinist.

Neil Westreich

Neil is a graduate of Cambridge University (where he is an honorary life fellow of Corpus Christi College) and Harvard Law School. He joined the New York law firm of Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP in 1979, where he became a partner in 1985 and from which he retired in 2006. For many years he has been a patron of performing arts institutions including The Metropolitan Opera, Carnegie Hall, the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center and the New York Philharmonic. He also served as Treasurer and Board Member of Opera Orchestra of New York. Neil supports the chair of London Philharmonic Orchestra Leader Pieter Schoeman.

David Whitehouse*

David plays Trombone in the LPO. Read David's biography here.


* Player-Director

Advisory Council

Read about the LPO's Advisory Council

Honorary Life Members

Alfonso Aijón
Kenneth Goode
Carol Colburn Grigor CBE
Pehr G Gyllenhammar
Robert Hill
Mrs Jackie Rosenfeld OBE
Laurence Watt