Listen First

Watch Now

2017/18 Season Trailer

Welcome to the London Philharmonic Orchestra's 2017/18 season at Royal Festival Hall






Booking Info

Russian epics

Powerful music from Rachmaninoff and Tchaikovsky

7:30 PM, ​ Royal Festival Hall, London

Khachaturian Adagio from Spartacus
Rachmaninoff Piano Concerto No. 3*
Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 4

Mikhail Agrest conductor
Andrey Gugnin piano
London Philharmonic Orchestra

Tchaikovsky’s Fourth Symphony is a sort of secret autobiography, whose story he explained only to his most trusted friends. But his experiences are all there in the music: from the terrifying opening fanfares, through tears, storms and moments of quiet tenderness, all the way to the Symphony’s delirious finish. Mikhail Agrest, of St Petersburg’s Mariinsky Theatre, understands this music instinctively. He’s an ideal partner for Sydney International Piano Competition winner Andrey Gugnin, in the Everest of Russian romantic piano concertos – Rachmaninoff’s Third. Khachaturian’s Adagio from Spartacus launches this concert of big emotions and vast horizons.

* In co-operation with the Serge Rachmaninoff Foundation.

See what's on

Previous year  Previous month December Next month Next year 
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun