Booking Info

Tickets for this concert are available directly through The Hexagon box office online at or by phone on 0118 960 6060.

Discounted tickets are availble for:
Groups of 10+: Tickets £12 each (subject to availability).
Children under 18: £6 for individual tickets
Further discounts may be available for schools groups – please contact the Hexagon Box Office for details.
All tickets prices are inclusive of booking fees.

The London Philharmonic Orchestra regrets that it is not responsible for the content on external websites.

Reading Hexagon: Delius, Elgar & Brahms

'High on the mountain, deep in the valley, I greet you'

7:30 PM, ​ The Hexagon, Reading

Delius On Hearing the First Cuckoo in Spring
Elgar Cello Concerto in E Minor, Op.85
Brahms Symphony No. 1

Jaime Martín conductor
Andreas Brantelid cello
London Philharmonic Orchestra

Did Brahms love Clara Schumann, the widow of his mentor? He certainly tried to. After a seemingly irreconcilable argument in September 1868, Brahms wrote to Clara from the Swiss Alps, scribbling a tune he'd heard played by a shepherd boy. 'High on the mountain, deep in the valley, I greet you', wrote Brahms, and the shepherd's tune became the radiant horn-call that soars over the strings in the finale of his First Symphony like sunlight breaking through the clouds. Clara inhabits the whole work, in a special musical 'motto' woven by Brahms and in the anguished love that seeps into every bar.

A similar emotional turmoil also inhabits Elgar's noble but fierce Cello Concerto, performed here by rising star Andreas Brantelid. The London Philharmonic Orchestra is led by internationally renowned conductor Jaime Martín, who opens this April concert with a homage to the season from Delius's elegant and evocative On Hearing the First Cuckoo in Spring.

See what's on

Previous year  Previous month March Next month Next year 
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun