Introducing Stravinsky Petrushka

Watch our short video introduction to Stravinsky's ballet Petrushka

Share this video

Listen First


Booking Info

Royal Festival Hall 2014/15

  • Please note that a transaction fee of £1.75 will be added to each order made online.
  • Tickets booked fewer than five working days before the date of the concert will be available for collection at the ticket office from 6.30pm on the day of the performance.
  • Concessions: 50% off all ticket prices for full-time students, benefit recipients (Jobseeker's Allowance, Income Support or Pension Credit) and under-16s (maximum 4 per transaction. Not applicable to Family Concerts) only. Limited availability; appropriate cards will be checked on admission.
  • Please note that we are unable to take payment by Amex.

Premium seats £65
The very best seats in the stalls, ensuring you the finest acoustic and view, are available as Premium seats.

Book more, pay less

Book 3-4 concerts and receive a 10% discount
Book 5-7 concerts and receive a 15% discount
Book 8-10 concerts and receive a 20% discount
Book 11-14 concerts and receive a 25% discount
Book 15 or more concerts and receive a 30% discount

Series discounts are automatically calculated online.  Series discounts are available on full price tickets only.

Only nine tickets per concert can be bought online. Bookings of ten or more seats for the same concert are eligible for the group booking discount of 20%. Please call the London Philharmonic Orchestra Group Booking Line on 020 7840 4205 for further details.

Offline booking

London Philharmonic Orchestra ticket office: 020 7840 4242
Mon-Fri 10am-5pm. £2.75 transaction fee

Southbank Centre ticket office: 0844 847 9920
Daily 9.30am-8pm. £2.75 transaction fee. All ticketing staff at Southbank Centre can take typetalk calls.
In person at Southbank Centre: no transaction fee.

Minimum age

7.30pm concerts are not recommended for children of five years and under, and Southbank Centre staff reserve the right to refuse entry to young children for these events. We recommend our FUNharmonics concerts for children.


Jurowski conducts Russian ballet scores

Plus new orchestral soundscapes from Magnus Lindberg

7:30 PM, ​ Royal Festival Hall, London

Prokofiev Chout (excerpts)
Magnus Lindberg Piano Concerto No. 2 (UK premiere)
Stravinsky Petrushka (1911 version)

Vladimir Jurowski conductor
Yefim Bronfman piano
London Philharmonic Orchestra

One day in 1911, Igor Stravinsky was writing a simple piano piece when he was hit by an idea: a piano, representing the Russian folk puppet Petrushka, which would suddenly spring to life and ‘exasperate the orchestra with diabolical cascades of arpeggios’. This was the starting point for his big stylistic breakthrough: the haunting ballet Petrushka in which Stravinsky would depict his homeland with ‘quick tempos, major keys, smells of Russian food, sweat and glistening leather boots’. It’s heard here against the more luscious piano-orchestral soundscape of Magnus Lindberg’s Second Piano Concerto, given its UK premiere this evening, and excerpts from Prokofiev’s own satirical ballet for Diaghilev, Chout (The Buffoon).

See what's on

Previous year  Previous month March Next month Next year 
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun