Introducing Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 6

Watch our short introduction to Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 6 (Pathetique)

Share this video



Listen First







Booking Info


Royal Festival Hall 2013/14

  • Please note that a transaction fee of £1.75 will be added to each order made online.
  • Tickets booked fewer than five working days before the date of the concert will be available for collection at the ticket office from 6.30pm on the day of the performance.
  • Concessions: 50% off all ticket prices for full-time students, benefit recipients (Jobseeker's Allowance, Income Support or Pension Credit) and under-16s (maximum 4 per transaction. Not applicable to Family Concerts) only. Limited availability; appropriate cards will be checked on admission.

Premium seats £65
The very best seats in the stalls, ensuring you the finest acoustic and view, are available as Premium seats.

Book more, pay less

Book 3-4 concerts and receive a 10% discount
Book 5-7 concerts and receive a 15% discount
Book 8-10 concerts and receive a 20% discount
Book 11-14 concerts and receive a 25% discount
Book 15 or more concerts and receive a 30% discount

Only nine tickets per concert can be bought online. Bookings of ten or more seats for the same concert are eligible for the group booking discount of 20%. Please call the London Philharmonic Orchestra Group Booking Line on 020 7840 4205 for further details.

Offline booking

London Philharmonic Orchestra ticket office: 020 7840 4242
Mon-Fri 10am-5pm. £2.75 transaction fee

Southbank Centre ticket office: 0844 847 9920
Daily 9.30am-8pm. £2.75 transaction fee. All ticketing staff at Southbank Centre can take typetalk calls.
In person at Southbank Centre: no transaction fee.

Minimum age

7.30pm concerts are not recommended for children of five years and under, and Southbank Centre staff reserve the right to refuse entry to young children for these events. We recommend our FUNharmonics concerts for children.




A Parting Gift

A vision of darkness in symphonic form

7:30 PM, ​ Royal Festival Hall, London

Marko Nikodijevic cvetić, kućica…/la lugubre gondola (UK premiere)
Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 5 (Emperor)
Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 6 (Pathétique)

Vladimir Jurowski conductor
Leif Ove Andsnes piano
London Philharmonic Orchestra

In his final symphony, Tchaikovsky wrote his own funeral music. Tortured by an intolerant society and by his own internal strife as his long-hidden homosexuality became public, Tchaikovsky turned to music. He wrote what is probably the most vivid, heart-rending and terrifyingly beautiful vision of darkness and exhaustion ever cast in symphonic form. Days after the first performance, Tchaikovsky died – probably at his own hand. Where Tchaikovsky appears so endearingly human, Beethoven appears near immortal in the big, imperious statements of his final piano concerto, a piece that combines fervent protest, sublime melancholy and hardhitting virtuosity to dazzling effect.

Generously supported by Dunard Fund

See what's on

Previous year  Previous month March Next month Next year 
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun