Concert Reviews: 28 October 2015

On Wednesday 28 October, the London Philharmonic Orchestra were joined by the German conductor Markus Stenz and violinist Patricia Kopatchinskaja in a performance of Beethoven's Symphony No. 1, Thomas Larcher’s Violin Concerto and Stravinsky’s groundbreaking score for the ballet, The Rite of Spring.

Read the reviews here:

 ‘It was good to find an example of unpredictable programming which challenged listeners to reflect on the constant renewal of musical language, from the premiere of Beethoven’s First Symphony in 1800 to Thomas Larcher’s Violin Concerto first heard in 2009’.

'This was an elegant, well-turned performance, where string lines were not left to look after themselves but nicely pointed, and in which textures were sufficiently aerated to allow the underlying energy to be asserted without any aggressive edge'.

Alexander Hall, Bachtrack, 29 October 2015

‘A well filled Royal Festival Hall seemed to indicate that audiences are not afraid of ‘modern’ music and even though The Rite of Spring was composed more than one-hundred years ago it will always epitomise modernity’.

‘Stenz led a driven account. Brass, percussion and strings were magnificent – in particular the tremendous force and absolute precision of the fiery pizzicato passages made the music very exciting’.

‘The London Philharmonic was on top form’.

Antony Hodgson, Classical Source, 28 October 2015

‘A performance of The Rite of Spring should always be an ‘occasion’; it certainly was here’.

‘The LPO brass’s screams straightforwardly demanded one’s attention’.

‘There was nothing routine to [Stenz’s] interpretation; it undoubtedly had a logic and character of its own, without trying to be ‘different’ for the sake of it’.

Mark Berry, Seen and Heard International, 29 October 2015

‘Larcher leaped on stage to join the ovation for Kopatchinskaja after a fiery, original performance’.

‘Kopatchinskaja dominated the second movement with everything from broad, double-stopped melodies to stratospheric yelps and glissandi’.

Michael Church, The Independent, 29 October 2015 (5 stars)


Read the concert programme online here.

Were you at the concert? Let us know what you thought – join the conversation on Facebook or Twitter, or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Don't miss our next concert on Saturday 31 October with Skrowacewski conducting Bruckner's 5th Symphony.