Concert Reviews: 11 November 2015

On Wednesday 11 November, the London Philharmonic Orchestra was joined by conductor Robin Ticciati for an evening of French masterpieces, including Debussy’s La mer, as well as Violin Concerto No. 1 written by LPO Composer in Residence Magnus Lindberg, and performed by Chistian Tetzlaff.

Read the reviews here:


‘Christian Tetzlaff’s imperious playing of the piece was edge-of-the-seat compelling from first to last, brushing all uncertainty aside. From the high, rapt opening to the scintillatingly vigorous finale, Tetzlaff played with a vehement authority that never wavered, and at times was almost overwhelming’.

‘In Fauré’s orchestral suite of Pelléas et Mélisande, which predates Debussy’s opera, Ticciati immediately announced his quality by drawing refined and restrained playing from the London Philharmonic’.

Martin Kettle, The Guardian, 13 November 2015 (4 stars)

‘The conductor brought an urbane, balletic grace to Ravel’s waltzes, matched by playing of considerable virtuosity’.

Hugo Shirley, Financial Times, 13 November 2015 (4 stars; subscription only)

‘Ticciati, all fluttering, bendy arms and sliding hips...caught the uneasy dreaminess of Fauré’s suite, Pelléas et Mélisande, in which the LPO strings were thinned down to an eerie flutter, and Ian Hardwick’s oboe solos were exquisite’.

Neil Fisher, The Times, 12 November 2015 (subscription only)

‘As would be expected, with Lindberg as the LPO’s Composer in Residence, the orchestra responded magnificently to this captivating concerto’.

Geoff Diggines, Seen and Heard International, 13 November 2015

‘The LPO and Robin Ticciati (with a strong Glyndebourne connection between them) were as caring and capricious as needed, but with a wide dynamic range, unforced at the top end, and dignified during the relatively stark ‘La Mort de Mélisande’.

‘Elsewhere, abetted by suave playing, there was much languor, elegance and flexibility to admire, not least during the final section’s reminiscences and evanescence’.

Colin Anderson, Classical Source, 12 November 2015


Read the concert programme online here.

Were you at the concert? Let us know what you thought – join the conversation on Facebook or Twitter, or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Don't miss our next concert on Wednesday 25 November when the London Philharmonic Orchestra will be joined by their Principal Guest Conductor, Andrés Orozco-Estrada in a performance of Dvořák’s bewitching Cello Concerto, and Mahler’s Symphony No. 1.