Reviews

The latest reviews of our concerts and recordings

explore-premieres

Concert reviews: 18 April 2018

On Wednesday 18 April LPO Principal Conductor Vladimir Jurowski led a performance of Stravinsky's Symphony in C and Tango, Debussy's Fantasie with soloist Leif Ove Andsnes, and Shostakovich's Symphony No. 6. Read the reviews below:

Read more ...

Concert reviews: 11 April 2018

On Wednesday 11 April Thomas Adès conducted the UK premiere of his own Powder Her Face Suite, the London premiere of Gerald Barry's Organ Concerto with Thomas Trotter, and Stravinsky's Perséphone with Toby Spence, Dame Kristin Scott Thomas, the London Philharmonic Choir and Trinity Boys Choir. Read the reviews below:

Read more ...

Concert reviews: 17 March 2018

On Saturday 17 March we performed excerpts from Stravinsky's arrangement of Tchaikovsky's Sleeping Beauty, Stravinsky's The Fairy's Kiss, and Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto No.1 with soloist Daniil Trifonov, conducted by LPO Principal Conductor Vladimir Jurowski. Read the reviews below:

Read more ...

Concert reviews: 3 March 2018

On Saturday 3 March 2018 Sir Antonio Pappano led a performance of Elgar's In The South, Brahms's Symphony No. 2, and Strauss's Four Last Songs with soprano Diana Damrau. Read the reviews below:

Read more ...

Concert reviews: 21 February 2018

On Wednesday 21 February 2018 we performed Stravinsky's The Rite of Spring alongside works by Debussy and Delius, and Ravel's Piano Concerto for the Left Hand with soloist Benedetto Lupo, conducted by Juanjo Mena. Read the reviews below:

Read more ...

Concert reviews: 7 February 2018

On Wednesday 7 February 2018 we performed Stravinsky's The Firebird alongside Scherzo fantastiqueFuneral Song, and Rimsky-Korsakov's Piano Concerto with soloist Alexander Ghindin, conducted by Vladimir Jurowski. Read the reviews below:

Read more ...

Concert reviews: 3 February 2018

On Saturday 3 February 2018 we launched Changing Faces: Stravinsky's Journey, our festival exploring Stravinsky's music in chronological order throughout 2018, with a programme of Stravinsky's earliest published works alongside music by Tchaikovsky, Glazunov and Rimsky-Korsakov. The concert was conducted by LPO Principal Conductor and Artistic Advisor Vladimir Jurowski and featured soloists Kristóf Baráti (violin) and Angharad Lyddon (mezzo-soprano). Read the reviews below:

Read more ...

Page 1 of 23